Scotland | Fife | Cellardyke

Cellardyke Harbour
Title: Cellardyke Harbour
Description: Cellardyke harbour, otherwise known as Skinfast Haven, is one of the most original in the East Neuk of Fife and dates from the 16th century. This timeless scene shows the small houses and communal washing lines on the harbourside. Cellardyke is now part of the town of Anstruther, being less than a mile between the harbour and the town centre and was originally named Nether Kilrenny after the small inland village to the north.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke Harbour
Title: Cellardyke Harbour
Description: This view shows the harbour from the Haven Restaurant at the western edge of the square along Shore Street.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke Harbour
Title: Cellardyke Harbour
Description: This view shows the village from the east side of the harbour.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke
Title: Cellardyke
Description: Some of the attractive little houses to be found around the harbour.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke - Harbour Entrance
Title: Cellardyke - Harbour Entrance
Description: The harbour entrance allows entry to small boats whilst the storyboard explains the many repairs carried out in the harbour over the years due to storm damage including the rebuilding between 1829 to 1831. Across the Forth, the large hill to the left of the harbour mouth is North Berwick Law.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke - John Street
Title: Cellardyke - John Street
Description: John Street is a long narrow road, with two-way traffic!, which joins Cellardyke with Anstruther. The picturesque houses line both sides of the street, some with very small windows and various colours.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke - George Street
Title: Cellardyke - George Street
Description: This is the view from George Street looking west towards John Street.
Date: April 2006
Cellardyke - Town Hall
Title: Cellardyke - Town Hall
Description: The fine Town Hall building on the road to Anstruther has the following inscription on the wall: "Erected by Stephen Williamson and David Fowler For Municipal and other Purposes in this their native town A.D. 1883", although the original hall was built in 1624. The Kilrenny market cross can be seen to the right of the entrance. The hall also acts as the local museum and even includes a German bomb which fell on Rodger street.
Date: April 2006
© 2006 MortonDesign

Gallery Home